By now everyone knows what Twitter is. Brief text updates, 140 characters or less, that appear in reverse chronological order. And now that twitter is available on most cell phones, tweeting is easier than ever.

I’ve had a twitter account for almost a year, but I have to admit, I’m not the most responsible tweeter. Most of my tweets are sent after 11 p.m., and I hardly say anything worth talking about. Honestly, I don’t know how I have any followers. But in class this week we talked about how to use twitter as a useful social network.

Most of my friends that I follow on twitter post personal updates about what they’re doing, or funny things they have seen or heard. But, unlike facebook, your “friends” aren’t the only people you can follow. Most celebrities, public figures, and even news networks have twitter accounts. You can find out what Kim Kardashian ate for breakfast, your senator’s take on a current issue, and CNN’s breaking headline, all in one place. And twitter might even get you 15 minutes of fame. When the plane crashed in the Hudson River a few years ago, the first picture of the accident was uploaded to Twitpic.

For those of you who aren’t already tweeting, here’s a cool video.

