This past Thursday was the beginning of Carnival, the Spanish version of Mardi Gras. This is their time to let loose before the beginning of Lent on Ash Wednesday. I had talked about Carnival in most of my classes, but I didn’t realize how big of a deal it was. The kids have a full week off from school, and you can find someone in costume at any point during the day.

Saturday night we went to the Gran Rua de Carnaval, or the Big Parade, on Parallel in Barcelona. I was definitely different than I expected. There were thousands of people lining the streets, and another couple thousand in the parade. Each “barrio” in Barcelona had people in the parade, often representing their native countries or something else they are known for. It was very entertaining, but I can’t wait to see how Sitges celebrates Carnival tomorrow night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

