This weekend in Barcelona confirmed one thing: I never want to leave. Two of my roommates went to Paris, but I hate Paris and Alexa already went, so we stayed for a chill weekend in Barca.  The combination of sun, bikes and good food made it one of the best yet.

On Friday we woke up pretty early (for us) and headed to Barceloneta. For the past three months, everyone in Spain has been bundled up in parkas and boots, no matter what the temperature, but on the first of April everyone finally ditched the layers for some more appropriate attire. The beach was packed, and everyone was in bathing suits. We went to Champagneria for lunch, where you can get a bottle of champagne for 5 euro, and really good sandwiches for only 2 or 3. Then we went back to the beach for a few hours. Before this weekend, I was the palest I’ve been in years, so I’ve never been happier to have tan lines.

Saturday we started with brunch at Milk. Best brunch I’ve had in Barcelona. Everyone in the restaurant was eyeing my french toast when it got brought to the table. Then we did the one thing I’ve been wanting to do since we arrived… rented bikes! There a ton of places in Barca that let you rent a bike for 5 or 10 euro, so we finally did it. It was almost embarrassing at first because I hadn’t ridden a bike in forever and couldn’t stay balanced to save my life, trying to weave in and out of the crowds. I almost got hit by multiple cars and almost took out multiple old ladies, but eventually I got the hang of it. We rode from the beach to our apartment by Sagrada Familia, back down through Parc de la Ciutadella, along la playa, and past Port Vell. After returning the bikes, we walked around El Born, one of my favorite districts in Barcelona. We stopped at El Magnifico for the best cup of coffee in town, then wandered around until we found Princesa 23, where we ate an amazing dinner. Most productive day I’ve had in Barcelona yet. And, sorry mom, but I don’t think I’m ever going to be able to come home.

