Now that the semester is almost over, I’m finally getting the hang of posting regularly. In the beginning, I thought a lot about what I was going to say and what I was going to talk about. Now I just write. After all, isn’t that what blogs are for?

In the first week of my Journalism 2.0 class, we learned that blogs are personal websites that provide updated headlines and news articles of other sites that are of interest to the user, and that may also include journal entries, commentaries and recommendations compiled by the user. I think I’ve managed to do that. I’ve written some posts about new media tools, mainly for the class portion of this blog, and I’ve also written a ton of journal entries about my experience overseas. Maybe my headline/news article posts could be a little better, but hey, I’m not trying to be an established blogger in the political world. I’m writing this for my friends and family back home. They want me to know what I’m doing with my life 5000 miles away from home, and that’s what I’m trying to get across.

I do, though, have to hand it to the guys who have really made it in the blogosphere. This is way harder than you’d think! I’ve somehow managed to get almost 500 views, plus a few subscribers and comments along the way, and I call that success. But there are blogs out there whose writing attracts thousands of readers, each and every day.

Are you blogging? If not, I encourage you to give it a shot. Sign up now at wordpress.com.

